Picture
Most people set themselves new challenges and goals for a new year, and for most, it will involve getting fitter and healthier. I would like to think I am pretty fit and healthy already.  Having naturally high blood pressure means that I am forced to watch what goes in my mouth and how much exercise I do on a regular basis, but it also helps that I enjoy the lifestyle. So, last year I decided to make 2013 a challenging one even by my standards.

I try to do something different each year.  “They” say you should always do something that scares you a little, and I have taken this to the extreme a few times (sky dives and bridge climbs). But this year I have decided that being a little longer in the tooth, I was best doing something I know I can do already but just push it that little further – running and then walking a marathon.

Late spring I will be taking part in the Brighton Marathon and then four weeks later taking part in the Moonwalk 2013 which is a marathon walk around London from midnight.  I figured I am lucky enough that I am able to both walk and run (whereas others may not be able to) so will be raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis Society.  This is a charity close to my heart and I would like to think that I am doing something that a lot of Multiple Sclerosis sufferers would aspire to do but are unable to do so.

I have already completed the Moonwalk three times.  Although the event is physically hard, it’s something that I know I can do.  The money raised goes to various Cancer charities which most people support. 

Running the marathon however is something that I have never done before. Despite taking part in a few long distance runs, my longest to date is 14 miles (my first training run of the year – get me!).

Those of you who have ever run a marathon, or set yourself something as physically demanding as one, will know that to prepare it takes immense training and determination (early mornings, soaking wet runs, icy conditions etc).  And as much as the event itself will be a challenge, I think sponsorship is earned more in the training.  That takes months, the event itself is only hours (hopefully!).

So if you would like to show your appreciation for my efforts, I would be EXTREMELY grateful if you could sponsor me for the Brighton Marathon by clicking here.

In the meantime, what’s your biggest challenge of 2013?





Leave a Reply.